Please pick a keywork or category to proceed.

New York City Ballet: HERE/NOW — ‘Polyphonia’ at David H. Koch Theater

Regarded as one of Wheeldon’s breakthrough contemporary works, Polyphonia’s four couples wind their way through ten eerily melodious Ligeti selections, including music made famous by Stanley Kubrick’s Eyes Wide Shut.

Polyphonia was the fourth work Christopher Wheeldon created for New York City Ballet, and his first after retiring from dancing with the Company and being named NYCB’s first-ever Artist in Residence in 2000. A work for eight dancers, Polyphonia is set to ten piano pieces by the composer György Ligeti, who developed micropolyphony, a type of musical texture involving the use of sustained dissonant chords that shift slowly over time. —NYCB

Choreography by: Christopher Wheeldon

Music by: György Ligeti

Cover: Polyphonia; Photo © Paul Kolnik


Popular tags

Art Break at Damrosch Park At The Met Fifth Avenue broadway Caramoor carnegie hall dan ouellette jazz notes lincoln center metropolitan opera Mostly Mozart Festival new york city new york city ballet New York City Center new york philharmonic nyc off-broadway Senior Editor ZEALnyc theater zealnyc