Please pick a keywork or category to proceed.

Salonen conducts The MET Orchestra in Schumann and Brahms at Carnegie Hall

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage - Carnegie Hall

57th Street and Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019

The music of two German romantic masters is featured. Brahms expands on the model left by Beethoven in his “Emperor” Concerto with a work of massive proportions in which piano and orchestra engage in a dialogue on a grand symphonic scale. The “Rhenish” Symphony, composed by Brahms’s friend and mentor Schumann, is a joyful and warmly melodic snapshot of the Rhineland. —Carnegie Hall

The MET Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen, Conductor
Maurizio Pollini, Piano

SCHUMANN Symphony No. 3, “Rhenish”
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1


Popular tags

2015 Art Break At The Met Fifth Avenue basketball Blue Note Records broadway carnegie hall dan ouellette jazz notes jazz standard mark mclaren editor in chief Miles Davis musical new york philharmonic nyc off-broadway review Senior Editor ZEALnyc theater zealnyc