Please pick a keywork or category to proceed.

National Youth Orchestra of China with Yuja Wang at Carnegie Hall

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage at Carnegie Hall

57th Street and Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019

The driving beat of taigu drumming, an African American spiritual quoted by a Czech master, and a beloved Russian concerto are featured in the inaugural performance of the National Youth Orchestra of China, a new ensemble launched this summer that brings together many of the country’s finest young players. Zhou Long’s The Rhyme of Taigu depicts the energetic pulse of the Japanese taiku, or “fat drum” (taigu in Chinese) in vibrant orchestral colors. Dvořák’s fascination with Native American music and African American spirituals takes flight in his sweetly lyrical “New World” Symphony, while Tchaikovsky’s magnificent concerto is a richly romantic showpiece with pianistic pyrotechnics and soaring melodies.

National Youth Orchestra of China
Ludovic Morlot, Conductor
Yuja Wang, Piano

ZHOU LONG The Rhyme of Taigu

TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1

DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”


Cover: (l. to r.) Ludovic Morlot; photo courtesy of artist (c) Brandon Patoc; and Yuja Wang; courtesy of Carnegie Hall.


Popular tags

2015 Art Break at Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts basketball broadway carnegie hall dan ouellette jazz notes jazz standard mark mclaren editor in chief Mostly Mozart Festival new york city New York City Center new york philharmonic nyc off-broadway Senior Editor ZEALnyc theater Zankel Hall zealnyc